HomeCelebMetallica Members, Tour, Information, Facts

Metallica Members, Tour, Information, Facts

Metallica during a performance in October 2017
Metallica during a performance in October 2017 (Raph_PH / Flickr / CC BY-2.0)

Metallica is a popular American heavy metal band. As of 2018, the band consists of drummer Lars Ulrich, vocalist James Hetfield, lead guitarist Kirk Hammett, and bassist Robert Trujillo. The band has been known as one of the greatest artists of all time by magazines such as Rolling Stone, which ranked them at no. 61 on its “100 Greatest Artists of All Time” list. The band has released popular songs like Eye of the Beholder, Lords of Summer, and Now That We’re Dead.


  1. James Hetfield – Vocals, Guitar
  2. Lars Ulrich – Drums, Percussion
  3. Robert Trujillo – Bass Guitar, Guitar, Vocals
  4. Kirk Hammett – Guitar

Past Members

  1. Dave Mustaine
  2. Ron McGovney
  3. Cliff Burton
  4. Jason Newsted


Los Angeles, California, United States


Heavy Metal, Thrash metal


  • Megaforce Records
  • Elektra Records
  • Vertigo Records
  • Warner Bros. Records
  • Blackened Records

Formation Date



Metallica went on several tours such as –

  • Kill ‘Em All for One (USA: July 27, 1983 – January 22, 1984)
  • Seven Dates of Hell (Europe: February 3, 1984 – August 29, 1984)
  • Bang That Head That Doesn’t Bang (Europe: November 16, 1984 – December 20, 1984)
  • Damage, Inc. Tour (North America: March 27, 1986 – August 3, 1986; Europe: September 10, 1986 – September 26, 1986; Japan: November 15, 1986 – November 20, 1986; North America: November 26, 1986 – December 20, 1986; Europe: January 8, 1987 – February 13, 1987)
  • Wherever We May Roam Tour (North America: October 12, 1991 – July 5, 1992; Europe: October 22, 1992 – December 18, 1992)
  • Nowhere Else to Roam (North America: January 22, 1993 – March 13, 1993; World Tour: March 16, 1993 – May 8, 1993; Europe: May 19, 1993 – July 4, 1993)
  • Summer Sanitarium Tour (USA: June 23, 2000 – August 9, 2000)
  • Summer Sanitarium 2003 Tour (Europe: June 4, 2003 – June 28, 2003; Europe/North America: July 4, 2003 – August 29, 2003)
  • Madly in Anger with the World Tour (World Tour: November 6, 2003 – November 28, 2004)
  • 2012 European Black Album Tour (Europe: May 7, 2012 – June 10, 2012)
  • By Request Tour (Europe/South America and Montreal in North America: March 16, 2014 – August 9, 2014)
  • Lords of Summer Tour (North America, South America, and Europe: May 9, 2015 – September 19, 2015)

Singing Portfolio

The band released its first studio album titled Kill ‘Em All on July 25, 1983. The album was declared ‘platinum’ by The Recording Industry Association of America, The Australian Recording Industry Association, and Music Canada.

Metallica Facts

  1. The band was formed by drummer Lars Ulrich and vocalist/guitarist James Hetfield.
  2. Drummer Lars Ulrich had put an advertisement in a Los Angeles newspaper, The Recycler, and got an answer by guitarists James Hetfield and Hugh Tanner of Leather Charm.
  3. Before even forming the band, Lars requested the Metal Blade Records founder Brian Slagel if he could record a song for the label’s upcoming compilation album, Metal Massacre which Brian accepted. Later, Ulrich hired Hetfield to sing and play rhythm guitar.
  4. The band officially came into existence on October 28, 1981, almost 5 months after Lars Ulrich and James Hetfield first met.
  5. The band’s name was given by Lars’s friend Ron Quintana who was brainstorming names for a fanzine and was considering MetalMania or Metallica.
  6. The band’s former lead guitarist Dave Mustaine answered for the advertisement for the lead guitarist and he was hired by Ulrich and Hetfield after they saw his expensive guitar equipment.
  7. In early 1982, Metallica recorded its first original song, “Hit the Lights”, for the Metal Massacre I compilation which released on June 14, 1982.
  8. The early press releases listed the band incorrectly as “Mettallica” that angered the band to a great extent.
  9. On September 27, 1986, during the European leg of Metallica’s Damage, Inc. Tour, members decided their bunks on the tour bus by drawing cards. At around sunrise near Dörarp, Sweden, the bus driver lost control of the steering which caused the bus to overturn several times. Members Ulrich, Hammett, and Hetfield had no serious injuries, however, bassist Burton was pinned under the bus and died on the spot.
  10. After his death, the band’s future remained in doubt for a long time but the remaining 3 members decided to carry on thinking that he would have wanted them to carry on.
  11. His replacement was Newsted who later left Metallica on January 17, 2001.
  12. Visit the band’s official website @ metallica.com.
  13. Connect with the band members on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, SoundCloud, and YouTube.

Featured Image by Raph_PH / Flickr / CC BY-2.0

Did we miss anyone?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Recent Articles