HomeCelebFromis_9 Members, Tour, Information, Facts

Fromis_9 Members, Tour, Information, Facts

The Korean girl group Fromis_9 as seen in a picture taken on June 11, 2019
The Korean girl group Fromis_9 as seen in a picture taken on June 11, 2019 (Nine Stars / YouTube / CC BY 3.0)

Fromis 9 or rather known as Fromis_9 is a South Korean girl group that was formed by CJ E&M in 2017 in Seoul, following Mnet’s reality show Idol School. After making their debut on January 24, 2018, the group released a number of hit tracks, albums, and EPs that include To. HeartFrom.9, and Glass Shoes. Since then, they have garnered a huge fan base with more than 800k followers on Instagram, more than 300k followers on Twitter, more than 300k followers on Facebook, and more than 450k followers on YouTube.



Seoul, South Korean


K-pop, Teen Pop, Synthpop


Off The Record Entertainment

They have released their music with various records labels such as Stone Music Entertainment.

Formation Date


Singing Portfolio

Fromis_9’s music is mostly based on the Korean pop music scene. In Korean terms, it is known as “Kpop”. Their music style includes dance, rap, and the use of vocals.

Fromis_9 Facts

  • The group’s name was decided through the official website of Idol School by netizens.
  • Their name in Korean pronunciation means “to keep their promise [to viewers] to be the best girl group.” It was formed from the words “From Idol School” and “Promise” and as there are 9 members in their group they added the number 9.
  • This show Idol School commenced from July 13 to September 29, 2017. The finalists were Roh Ji-sun, Song Ha-young, Lee Sae-rom, Lee Chae-young, Lee Na-gyung, Park Ji-won, Lee Seo-yeon, Baek Ji-heon and Jang Gyu-ri. They were the final 9 contestants that had been voted into the group by the viewers.
  • Fromis-9’s debut EP was released on January 24, 2018. It managed to make its way into the top 4 on the Gaon Album Chart. Similarly, their second album titled To. Day which was released on June 5, 2018, also managed to achieve the same feat.
  • They released their debut single album titled From.9 on October 10, 2018. The album consisted of a total of 3 hit songs in all which are Love BombDancing Queen, and Coloring. It also made its way into the top 3 places on the South Korean Albums chart.
  • Their 2nd mini-album was released on June 4, 2019, and was titled Fun Factory. It was by far their best selling album and peaked at #2 on the Gaon Album Chart. It was compiled of the tracks First Love, Clover22Century GirlPitapat (DKDK)Think of You, and Close To You.
  • The group has bagged various awards such as the Asia Artist Award, Asia Model Award, and V Live Award.

Featured Image By KOREA Dispatch / YouTube / CC BY 3.0

Did we miss anyone?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Recent Articles