HomeCelebTVXQ (Band) Members, Tour, Information, Facts

TVXQ (Band) Members, Tour, Information, Facts

Shim Chang-min and Jung Yun-ho at the HERA Seoul Fashion Week in March 2018
Shim Chang-min and Jung Yun-ho at the HERA Seoul Fashion Week in March 2018 (Korea Dispatch / YouTube / CC BY 3.0)

TVXQ, short for Tong Vfang Xien Qi is a South Korean pop duo band that was formed by S.M. Entertainment in 2003. They are also popularly known as ‘DBSK’ that is an abbreviation for their Korean name Dong Bang Shin Ki. TVXQ has released various well-known tracks including Hug, Show Me Your Love, Mirotic, Keep Yor Head Down, Before U Go, and Catch Me. Initially, they were a 5 member band, however, due to legal disputes, members Hero Jaejoong, Micky Yoochun, and Xiah Junsu decided to quit, eventually, leaving Jung Yun-ho and Shim Chang-min to continue with TVXQ as a duo.


  1. Shim Chang-min
  2. Jung Yun-ho

Past Members

  1. Hero Jaejoong
  2. Micky Yoochun
  3. Xiah Junsu


Seoul, South Korea


Pop, Dance, R&B, Electronic, Rock, Ballad


SM Entertainment Co., Ltd.

Formation Date


Singing Portfolio

  • TVXQ released their debut Korean studio album titled Tri-Angle on October 11, 2004. The album was originally comprised of 14 tracks that included the hit songs Hug and My Little Princess.
  • On March 22, 2006, TVXQ released its first Japanese studio album that consisted of a total of 17 tracks in total. It consisted of several well-perceived tracks that include Stay with Me Tonight, Somebody to Love, My Destiny, Asu wa Kuru Kara, and Rising Sun / Heart, Mind and Soul.
  • They have addressed their music as a mix of orchestral pop, rock, hip hop, and contemporary R&B, with harmonizing vocals and high notes.

TVXQ Facts

  1. “DBSK” which is an abbreviation for “Dong Bang Shin Ki” translates to “Rising Gods of the East”.
  2. TVXQ released their debut single Hug on January 14, 2004, which peaked at #4 on the Music Industry of Korea list.
  3. TVXQ members Jaejoong, Yoochun, and Junsu made headlines in July 2009, after they had announced that they would be leaving TVXQ due to unfair conduct in the profits that they were earning. They had also stated the contract that they were presented with for 13 years was just too long.
  4. As a duo, TVXQ members Shim Chang-min and Jung Yun-ho released their first album Keep Your Head Down on January 5, 2011.
  5. In December 2014, TVXQ’s wax figures were unveiled at Madame Tussauds in Shanghai.
  6. In December 2017, the duo released a new single titled Reboot, which sold more than 123,000 copies and debuted at No. 2 on the Oricon Singles Chart.
  7. In March 2018, TVXQ released a new album titled New Chapter #1: The Chance of Love, which debuted at No. 1 on the Gaon Album Chart.
  8. They released a new Japanese album titled Tomorrow in September 2018. The album debuted at No. 1 on the Oricon Albums Chart.
  9. In December 2018, the duo released a new EP titled New Chapter #2: The Truth of Love.
  10. They released a new Japanese album titled XV in October 2019.
  11. In March 2022, TVXQ released a new EP titled Epitaph.
  12. In December 2023, they released a new studio album titled 20&2.

Featured Image By Korea Dispatch / YouTube / CC BY 3.0

Did we miss anyone?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Recent Articles